Franklin City Commission

The City of Franklin is governed by the City Manager form of government, with a Mayor and City Commissioners. The Mayor is elected to a four year term, and there are four City Commissioners who are elected for two year terms. This governing board is responsible for deciding on the city's policies and procedures by passing Resolutions and  Municipal Ordinances all of which are implemented by the various City Departments.

Larry DixonLarry Dixon
Mayor Larry Dixon is the former manager and owner of Sullivan’s Department Store for 41 years, and has recently retired from Dillard's Department Store, where he worked as a Sales Pace Setter/Suit Specialist. He and his wife Donna have two children and twin granddaughters. He is a long time member of the Franklin First Baptist Church where he has served as Deacon for many years, has served on numerous local boards and was selected as Home Town Hero in 1990.  He has served as Mayor since January 1, 2019.

Jamie PowellJamie Powell
City Commissioner
Commissioner Jamie Powell is a retired Police Chief from the Franklin Police Department, and is currently serving his seventh term as City Commissioner. His community involvement includes being a member of the Calvary Baptist Church, Electric Plant Board member, Lifetime Member of the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police and a member of the Simpson County Historical Society.
Wendell StewartWendell Stewart
City Commissioner
Commissioner Wendell Stewart began his service on the Franklin City Commission on January 1, 1999.  He previously has served eleven terms as City Commissioner. He is a 1982 graduate of Franklin-Simpson High School and a 1983 graduate of Mid-State Barber and Styling College in Nashville, TN. He is the owner and operator of Stewart's Barber Shop. Commissioner Stewart has served on the Franklin Electric Plant Board, Boys & Girls Club, F-S Parks Board, the Urban Renewal Board, and the Industrial Board.
Dale McCreary (2)Dale McCreary
City Commissioner

Commissioner Dale McCreary is currently in his first term on the Franklin City Commission.  He is the Director of the Franklin-Simpson EMS/Franklin Simpson County Ambulance Service and serves on the Boys & Girls Club of Franklin-Simpson Board of Directors.

Herbert WilliamsHerbert Williams
City Commissioner

Commissioner Herbert Williams has served on the City Commission since January 1, 1992 in different roles.  He was appointed Interim Mayor, serving from September 10 , 2009 until December 31, 2010.  Commissioner Williams currently serves on the F-S Parks Board.